Housing Tomorrow - Winners

The winners of the 2012 Housing Tomorrow competition were just announced. This annual competition urges the exploration of contextual, cultural, and life cycle flows that offer new housing strategies for living in the future.

The competition is sponsored by the New York based d3, the competition invites architects, designers, engineers and students to collectively explore innovative approaches to residential urbanism, architecture, interiors, and designed objects.

d3 Housing Tomorrow recognizes innovative strategies that challenge conventional housing typologies with emerging planning strategies, advanced technologies, and alternative materials. Competition submissions for 2012 reflect forces of globalization and adaptation, as well as the changing nature of visualization in academia and professional design practice.

The 2012 jury was composed of leaders of the academic and professional architecture and design community including: Jonus Ademovic, Principal of Archipelagos; Illya Azaroff, principal of plusLAB, Assistant Professor/CUNY, Adjunct Faculty School of Visual Arts; Sandra McKee, principal of Yoshihara McKee, Adjunct Assistant Professor/Columbia University & Fordham University; Marc Manack, principal of siloARD and Lecturer/Ohio State University; Ji Young Kim; member of J-SEArC/Columbia University; and Jorg Sieweke, Assistant Professor/University of Virginia. The competition was co-directed by Laura Garofalo, Assistant Profesor/SUNY Buffalo and winner of previous d3 Housing Tomorrow/d3 Natural Systems competitions; and Gregory Marinic, Director of Interior Architecture and Assistant Professor/University of Houston. The jury selected three winners and twelve honorable mentions.

First Place: Woolopolis
Hannes Frykholm and Henry Stephens (Sweden/New Zealand)

First Prize was awarded to Hannes Frykholm and Henry Stephens, a team from Sweden and New Zealand, for their project ‘Woolopolis’. The project rethinks various aspects of New Zealan’s wool economy and combines processing facilities, lofted housing units, and a market functioning as the communal center of a networked live-work community.

Second Place: Honeycombed Transformation
Chih-Wei Hsu (Taiwan)

Second Prize was awarded to Chih-Wei Hsu from Taiwan for ‘Honeycombed Transformation’. The project addresses integrated housing communities that lessen the carbon footprint by establishing a high-density living environment minimizing impact on surrounding natural territories.

Third Plcae: Invertec House
Danielle Apap, Lishi Li, Miguel Silva Santisteban (Australia)

Third Prize was award to Danielle Apap, Lishi Li, and Miguel Silva Santisteban, a team from Australia, for their project ‘Invertec House’. The project reconsiders privacy thresholds, providing opportunities for the house to mediate between public and communal realms.

Twelve Special Mentions were selected in various typology-specific categories including:
  • Sustainable New York Award: ‘Hobo Corp.’, Jodi McLeod, Natasha Gershfield, William Allen, Rongxiao Han (UK/China);
  • High-Density Housing: ‘Noah Tower’, Pei Ru Li, Kaining Peng, Chen Liang (China);
  • Medium-Density Housing: ‘Mountain Band-Aid’, Yiting Shen, Nanjue Wang, Ji Xia, Zihan Wang (China);
  • Low-Density Housing: ‘Urban Green House’, Rebecca Ryan Wall (USA);
  • Suburban Intervention: ‘High-Density Tucson’, Mohammad Askarzadeh, Parisa Mansourian (Iran);
  • Master Planning: ‘unBuffer Zone’, Natalia Christodoulou, Miranda Savva, Fatmagul Oge, Lei Bao (Cyprus/China);
  • Adaptive Reuse: ‘Boom Blox’ Andrea Giordano, Alim Saleh, Kieran Bruce, William Garforth-Bles, Danae Razou (UK);
  • Interior Architecture: ‘Factory Reconstruction’ Qi Zhang, Shuo Li, Zihe Deng (China);
  • Single-Family/Modular: ‘Furtive Hut’, Gonzalo del Val (Spain);
  • Alternative Typology: ‘Symbiotic City’, J.Y. Chan, S.L. Chau, H.W. Cheung, M.T. Chow (Hong Kong);
  • Director’s Choice: ‘Metabolic Renewal’, Majid Behboudi, Arash Nourkeyhani, Mark Ross, Paul Harrison (Canada);
  • Director’s Choice: Moving Dove Wu Hao, Shen Shuangzhi, Zhu Xiaozhi (China).
A publication of winning projects and selected competition submissions will be published by d3 in Spring 2012.

  Comment on this Article

  Please login to post comments

Post to my facebook wall
Characters remaining

    Latest Property News
    • 20 Nov 2017
      Since 2012, sectional title complexes have been leading the South African property market, not only in terms of price growth, but sales volumes as well. Remaining relatively strong, even in the face of 2017’s political and economic turmoil, experts say this market segment could offer valuable insight into South Africans’ property purchase priorities.
    • 20 Nov 2017
      Regardless of whether you are purchasing your first start-up home, downsizing or moving in with roommates, finding ways to maximise small spaces can be a big advantage, says Adrian Goslett, Regional Director and CEO of RE/MAX of Southern Africa.
    • 20 Nov 2017
      Property valued at approximately R1 billion is on High Street Auctions’ sales floor during the month of November, including the much-anticipated sale of the Tshwane Mayoral Residence and the land occupied by one of South Africa’s oldest operating gold mines.
    • 17 Nov 2017
      FWJK has announced the launch of its latest residential brand, the Lil’ Apple, which will be launched simultaneously in two developments in Cape Town and Umhlanga totaling 600 apartments. The Lil’ Apple is set to be a brand of FWJK’s New York style apartments which will be rolled out nationally.
    • 17 Nov 2017
      It’s been a tumultuous year on many fronts, with socio-political uncertainty setting the tone for much of South Africa’s economic activity yet despite this and seemingly counter-intuitively, the residential property market has held up well.
    • 17 Nov 2017
      The EAAB (the Estate Agency Affairs Board) recently claimed that around 50,000 illegal estate agents could currently be operating illegally.
    • 16 Nov 2017
      Penthouses are synonymous with New York – characterised by high-rise living that is decidedly luxurious and spacious. While exclusivity comes at a price, you can still create a “penthouse” look and feel in your existing apartment or even the upstairs bedroom of a double storey house with some clever design changes and styling touches.
    • 16 Nov 2017
      The area has long been popular with kite surfers and, with escalating property prices in Cape Town itself, is increasingly in demand with home owners who work in town, but are looking to invest in more affordable properties.
    Subscribe to the MyProperty Newsletter

    Last Name  
    Email Address  
    Email Frequency
    Share this Page

    For Sale Property
    Rental Property
    More Options
    Connect with us